Re-start and a recipe

“What you resist persists” – Carl Jung

After working at (and surviving) the frenetic pace I had adopted for the last few months, resisting rest and time out, all systems went “abort” a couple of months back and I just HAD to take a break. During the time I cut down on my writing, hung up the apron for a while, caught up on my reading, which had been relegated to the back bench and generally relaxed. Reading helped- a lot. I was introduced to a few interesting titles that were food for the soul, mind and heart. Some of it pure trash and others-gems. But all had their desired effect πŸ™‚ I have shared the names of a special few at the end of the post.

Now that the energy and enthusiasm levels are back on high, the blog has returned with new stories and recipes. Today’s post will be short and sweet, just like the recipe of one ingredient banana ice-cream I am sharing with you today. Adopted from Tastespotting, it is hassle free and quite tasty- that is if you are banana fan.

Ingredients:

  • Bananas: 3
  • Chocolate chips (optional)*

Method:

  • Cut bananas into bite sized pieces.
  • Freeze over night
  • Whizz them up in the food processor.
  • It took them around 7 -10 minutes to come together into an ice cream consistency.
  • Drop the chips in.
  • Scoop it out and dig in!

“I can’t believe it is not banana ice-cream” ice-cream

*You can embellish the sweet dish as you like. For ideas check out the comments section in the following link. Β One ingredient banana ice-cream

Verdict: a great pud if you like bananas. The consistency is a bit sticky and gooey.

Now for the books that I have kept me company the last few days and are ones you too may enjoy reading+**

Quiet: ThePower of Introverts by Susan Cain

Why I liked it: Honest, simple, reflective

Finding your element: Sir Ken Robinson

Why I liked it: Funny, anecdotal, thought-provoking

The Shadow of the wind: Carlos Ruis Zafon

Why I liked it: Beautifully written, atmospheric, vivid

The Chalk Circle Man: Fred Vargas

Why I liked it: Quirky, intelligent, unputdownable, the author pulls you in with her narrative

In case you try the recipe or the books, do share your thoughts. Even if you don’t do write in, would love to hear from you.

** The formatting below is purely accidental; tried to fix it but WordPress isn’t happy to oblige! I give up. Hope you enjoyed the post nevertheless.

4 thoughts on “Re-start and a recipe

  1. Great to have you back, Prerna! I came across the ice cream on food52 and have been wanting to try it. And with chocolate chips it would be even better. Will check out your book recommendations, esp the one by Ken Robinson. I love the new theme by the way!!

  2. You make cooking sound so easy! Glad to see you have returned to this space as well πŸ™‚ .. Look forward to more from you. Have been recommended the ‘power of the introverts’ earlier as well. Should look into it.

Leave a Reply

