Worth its salt

Compressed Watermelon Salad, with feta & balsamic pearls*. Image Courtesy: Sanjay Ramchandran

This week’s been quite an exciting one; one of the reasons is the following article, which was featured in Prismma, an online magazine on design, travel and lifestyle. Putting it together was quite an education, right from research to the interview to collaborating with a great photographer; the result is one that I am very proud of , even if I say so myself! The photo above is courtesy Sanjay Ramchandran, the man behind the images, who has very kindly (the sweet man that he is!) given me the go-ahead to use it on What’s Cookin’.

Following is an excerpt from the article.

“Too little of it and your food is bland, too much and it spoils the dish- but the right quantity of salt can bring out flavours like no other seasoning can. It balances the sweetness and acidity of ingredients by decreasing the sourness of acid and increasing the sweetness of sugar….”

“While humans have been cooking with salt since ancient times, in the last few years, certain revolutionary thinkers (read chefs) have decided to take the salt-food relationship to a whole new level- they have decided to cook on it. Now you may be wondering how in the world can you cook anything on salt crystal? The answer is you can’t. We are not talking about the regular table salt or any other crystalised salt, the agent in question is in fact an elegant but heavy salt slab which is quite pretty in pink. This is the Pink Himalayan Sea-salt.”

For the entire piece, some amazing pictures and mouth-watering recipes, head over here to the Chef’s Corner on Prismma.

Looking forward to your feedback!

*Recipe: Chef Arzooman Irani, Vivanta by Taj Whitefield, Bangalore

2 thoughts on “Worth its salt

  1. Very interesting and well-written, your pride is richly deserved. The opening lines of the excerpt remind me of the folk tale about the king with three daughters, and the question of who had the greatest filial love for him. ‘I love you as much as salt’…know that one?

    I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. Do stop by to pick it up!

    • thank you thank you thank you! for your lovely comments and for the Award!!! I am sooo kicked, my first ever and from one of my favourite bloggers, it’s an honour. couldn’t have asked for a better end to the day!
      As for the story, yup, I remember it from when I was a kid- I think my granny read it out to me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

