A new year, a new beginning

Things don’t always go as you planned- be it missing the deadline on a self-imposed challenge or having a holiday turn into a final goodbye. But you learn to roll with the punches, play the cards you are dealt and hope to win or at least learn to enjoy the game.

So in the spirit of dusting off and getting back on track let me pull the Jamie 30-minute meal trial out of hibernation. The meal in the spotlight this week is Steak Sarnie (sandwich) with crispy new potatoes, beetroot salad and cheesy mushrooms.

Steak Sandwich

Steak sarnie: This is the second time I am cooking steak and I have to say it is by far the easiest thing I have cooked- ever. I guess with the book giving clear instructions on how much meat to cook for how long, I couldn’t really go wrong. And having seen more and enough food shows that go on and on about sticking to the cooking time dictated when it comes to cooking steak, I have not dared to deviate from the prescription: and the fact I paid good money for that hunk of meat.  I will leave the experimentation to cooks with deeper pockets than mine.

Moving on.

Crispy potatoes

Crispy roast potatoes: I remember once mentioning either on the blog or to a  friend about how I absolutely hate potatoes- except when in aloo paranthas. I will now proceed to eat those words with tubers on the side. Ever since I started this blog, I have had potatoes in all (OK not all but most) styles possible- baked, sauteed, par-boiled, mashed, doused in cream, with new and old style dressings and so the list goes. Some of these preparations were unhealthy to put it mildly, but all were good for the taste-buds and not to mention the soul!

Beetroot salad: Sweet beets and salty feta, helped along with a dash of balsamic vinegar- a happy marriage. However, I skipped this part of the meal. Reason: I was out of feta and it was too cold to go out and buy myself some. There I said it- I was too chicken to brave the chill.

Cheesy portobello mushroom

Cheesy mushrooms: Now I am quite fond of stuffed stuff- or at least the idea of these- like stuffed peppers, filled roasted tomatoes etc. However, this is the first time I attempted to make a “stuffed” dish (oh no wait, I have made chicken stuffing before and it was a winner. I guess this was the first stuffed veg I cooked. Well technically mushrooms are not veg but lets stick to the assumption of the contrary for now). The result- um.. okayish. I guess I didn’t season the mushroom well enough. However the experience was not that mediocre so as to thwart my plans of cooking more stuffed veg (or fungi) further down the line.

My verdict: A good hearty meal, easy to cook and one you can share when friends come calling. Not so much for dainty dinners, though.

Cost of a meal for two: £13

Time taken to cook the meal: 40 minutes

Recipe: For the meal click here.

A good meal deal

6 thoughts on “A new year, a new beginning

  1. Great to see you experimenting with cooking and writing about it again. It always inspires me to step away from my safe, easy recipes that have become staple (and a little stale!) on my palate. Keep up the good work! x

  2. wow,,,,looks yummy,,,my taste buds are salivating already! :),,,, the steak really sounds like a quick fix!!! I am getting all the inspiration to give it a bash!!!hee-haw!!! Vik couldn’t have asked for more!!;)

  3. This sounds like an awesome awesome dinner! Is this what greeted Vinoo home? 😀 The steak and the mushrooms look simply sumptuous! As usual, will get mom to try 😉

Leave a Reply

