Quick fix dosa

Dosa in a jiffy

The husband’s been pining for a dosa for a while now. At other times we would leg it to East Ham for some proper madrasi fare but this particular evening we were in neither the mood nor the shape for the excursion, what with me still recovering from a nasty flu and him too lazy to move after an exceptionally long day at work.

This was a good time to invoke the god of quick fix food- Mr Oliver of the 30-minute meals fame. A few weeks before I had chanced upon (yet another) of his simple recipes on one of his new shows- it was for a speedy dosa.  He promised that it would taste close to the real thing; I was tempted to try.

Now being somewhat of a south Indian (mum being from Kerala and all that) I know my dosas well. And am quite mindful of the fact they require some amount of preparation and patience. But for some reason I have not been able to muster enough  of the latter for some things, dosas included. No wonder this recipe appealed to my instincts.

The recipe can be found here (The amazing Indian Dosa) but I made a few improvisations vis-a-vis the ingredients. The method however, remains more or less  the same.

Ingredients:

For the potato filling:

  • 2 baking potatoes, peeled (optional) and chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Green chillies chopped
  • 1 fried red chilli
  • 1 teaspoons mustard seeds
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • Salt

For the Dosa batter

  • 1 cup gram (chickpea) flour
  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • Olive oil
  • water (at room temp): approx 400 ml or so
Method:
  • I speed cooked the potato in the microwave oven. Peeled and chopped these; covered them with a microwave safe cling film and bunged them in the microwave. I would suggest include half a lemon for a nice tangy flavour.
  • Heat the oil. Splutter mustard seeds in it, followed by turmeric powder, dried broken red chillies, green chillies and curry leaves. When the red chillies turn dark it is time to remove the pan from the heat.
  • Once the potatoes are done, add salt and mash them up. Add the tempering (above) and mix some more.
  • Mix the two flours, add the bi-carb and make a loose batter by adding water little by little. JO added mustard seeds here and to me the quantity seemed much and the addition unnecessary. So I avoided that bit.
  • put a little bit of oil on a hot flat pan and remove excess by wiping with a paper towel or do as I did. Take half or quarter of an onion or potato, plunge a fork in to it for handling and use this to wipe excess oil. This is how it is done back home.
  • Next ladle some of the batter on to the centre of the pan (as you would do a pancake) and spread it around with the back of the ladle. The idea is to make it as thin as a crepe. Once spread, you can add some chopped onions and chopped fresh green chillies on the top sie of the crepe.
  • One bubbles form on top and the moisture evaporates. The bottom and edges of the dosa should be nice and crisp now
  • Remove from heat, add the potato filling and roll.
The quick fix dosa is ready!
The hubby and I had this with some sambarand coconut chutney.The meal was light and healthy, good for the tummy and the soul.
As for the taste, I won’t say it was close to the real thing as it lacked the tanginess that fermentation brings about. Having said that I do have to admit this version was quite good, something I would definitely be making more often.
5 thoughts on “Quick fix dosa

  1. This is just amazing,,,,love it,,,,Manipal made me such a Dosa freak n I have been mooching Jim for a nice dosa corner in Toronto,,,I DON’T NEED ONE ANYMORE!!!!
    YAYYYYY!!!!

  2. I have food at Tam Bhavan at least once a week (not out of choice). But, this post makes me want to go to Laxmi! Good post.

    Suggestion: open a restaurant 🙂

Leave a Reply

