My first 30-minute meal!

Finally! Yes, I finally beat the clock at 28 min 30 sec! And what was on the winning menu? Indian style steak, spinach and paneer salad, naan and mango dessert.

I know, I know, the entire line up sounds so wrong. Believe me, I had my reservations too, especially when I read that the recipe asked for the steak to be marinated in a Jalfrezi curry paste. That sounded like bad advice. On top of all the doubts, there was another worry- I had never prepared steak ever. I was convinced that what I had on my hand was a recipe for disaster. Nonetheless,  I took a deep breath and dove in.

Now that I have convinced you of my paranoia and firm belief in the failure of this venture, here’s the climax. The meal turned out amazing, including the steak! And that I prepared it under 30 minutes was a bonus. However, I do have to add, that the meal required minimal cooking (the steak was done in 8 minutes), and  I opted keep the mango “dessert” au naturale. No lime, sugar and mint on my mango, thank you very much. Mango’s are best had without any frills.

Nom nom nom

All the elements of the meal come together nicely and it was a nice hearty meal, totally unsuitable for summer but that didn’t stop a couple of meat lovers like the husband and me.

Time taken: 28 min 30 sec.

Cost of a meal for two: £12 (pricier than the other meals made till date)

Recipe: Click here for the run-down.

P.S: This 30 minute meal was a personal achievement of sorts I agree, however, on the downside, this is what the kitchen looked like at the end of the feat. :/

Post haste

6 thoughts on “My first 30-minute meal!

  1. Awwww… I miss the times spent in that comfy kitchen… and miss your cooking even more. Looking forward to more of your Jamie 30 minute trials.

  2. Way to go babe…!!!! That isn’t a small achievement… And, the pic of the kitchen is making me (your) home sick!!!! miss you…

Leave a Reply

