Brownies!

I finally roused myself after a week-long sickness and helped myself to some chocolatey goodness. After a week of soups and salads, I was of the firm opinion that I deserved a break. I decided to bake myself (and others) some brownies. All it took was half-an-hour to whip up these bad boys. One  bite and I was on the road to recovery. OK so I exaggerate.

But I have to tell you that despite my sickness addled taste-buds, the cake tasted pretty good. Considering that the husband polished off half the tray, you can safely assume that the stuff went down pretty well with the healthy gustatory elements. By the way in case you think that I have just risen from the death-bed, having won the battle for my mortality, please don’t worry. I have a penchant for drama and the habit gets the better of me, at times.

Without further ado- here’s the recipe which has been modified from one of Jamie’s 30-minute-meals, of which I will appraise you later.  Oh but wait. I do need to add that I was aiming to prepare a Boston Brownie (BB), something a dear dear friend of mine had introduced me to 2 years back when she took me to this brilliant establishment called Konditor & Cook. It was those brown beauties that finally converted a brownie-despiser me.

Brownielicious

The difference between the regular chocolate brownies and this one are cranberries (and of course that BBs were appreciably softer and more moist than any brownie I had had till that day). Make of that what you will. Now before you think I am letting out the bakery’s secret, perish the thought. I have merely tried to make my version of it- and I must say it was pretty darn tasty.

Ingredients:

  • Unsalted butter (at room temperature): 200 gm
  • Dark chocolate: 100 gm
  • Milk Chocolate: 50 gm
  • Castor Sugar: 200 gm
  • Eggs: 2
  • Milk: 1/2 a cup
  • Self-raising flour: 4 heaped tbsp
  • Cranberries, dried (optional): LOTS
  • Baking parchment

Method:

  • Chop up the chocolate and butter; add to the food processor along with every ingredient except the eggs, milk and cranberries.
  • Whizz up to make a smoothish batter and add the milk and eggs as the processor runs.
  • Once done, you might still have some chunky chocolate bits left, don’t worry about those. In fact they will add to the final drama that is this brownie.
  • Scrunch up a baking parchment under water. Squeeze out as much water as you can. Spread atop a baking tray. Smear a bit of olive oil on the paper.
  • Pour the batter onto a flat baking tray. Make sure the this is spread thinly (check the photo out to gauge how thin). The thickness is the reason why this cake cooks fast.
  • Bung the cranberries in.
  • Smooth the batter up with a spatula.
  • Bake at 240 degrees C for 15 minutes.
  • Done!

Chocolate brownie with cranberries

4 thoughts on “Brownies!

    • Hi there! Thanks for dropping by 🙂 . Yup, Jamie worked his magic yet again but I did make a few adjustments here and there in the spirit of experimentation! I am not surprised you love the book; for me it’s my cookery bible (for now), even though I haven’t been able to cook a meal in 30 minutes, yet!

Leave a Reply

