Onyummmmm redux

While last year Onam was a modest affair, this time on I went the whole hog. So there was kichadi, kalan, erissery and the works… and I am quite pleased to say that the result was quite satisfactory (for a first time elaborate sadya). The meal was certified by two malayalis who polished off two rounds of helpings each! ๐Ÿ˜€


So I bring to you onasadya from a wee house in London and here’s hoping you had a good one too!

The spread*

Missing from the spread is Payasam, which was by far the easiest pudding I have ever made (Recipe below). One suggestion though. Use more milk in case you like your payasam cold because the quantity specified in the recipe gets soaked up while the dish cools.

I pulled the recipes from various online sources, choosing the ones that were more elaborate in description than others. Reason: 50% of the dishes being attempted were my first. I wish I could say that the outcome was perfect but for a first-timer, I did alright (even if I say so myself!).

However, I did outdid myself with the parippu (dal), even if I say so myself. A lot of credit goes to this very detailed recipe, which taught me how the humble dal can be sexed up into a mouth-watering treat.

The sadya prep was quite an education, in terms of the dishes and some about my own self! Given that it was a working day, we decided to have our celebratory feast at night. So I started at 11 in the morning (with a cold and fever to boot) and finished at 6. The longest time spent EVER in the kitchen. Finally understood what being passionate about a craft actually meant! Of course I was out like a light as soon as my head hit the pillow.

Cutting vegetables in uniform(ish) pieces: It take some effort, but cutting the vegetable in this manner means they cook uniformly and the dish looks pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

Cooking in or using coconut oil for tempering makes a world of difference to the dishes.

This meal was one of the healthiest we have eaten, despite the variety and generous helpings!

Enough to the recap, on to the recipes: I am sharing the links to the various recipe sources I used for the dishes I was cooking for the first time.

Erissery:

Pumpkin Eriserry*

Kichadi: This had dried up quite a bit by the time we got down to eating it. Also, S-I-L advised I cut the pieces smaller next time.

Plantain kichadi*

Parippu:

Parippu (between the rice at the back and chutney in front) *

Payasam: Will update image soon!

*Photos in the post are all courtesy SIL, who was forced to click before she could eat! Thanks Kate ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Onyummmmm redux

Leave a Reply

